Vanilla Cupcakes

Apologies for the few days of silence – the combination of a cold and having had exam results celebrations has meant that I haven’t been in the house to cook much, let alone to post!

Usually a serial baker, I’m surprised it has taken me this long to post about cake! I always find it very therapeutic to bake, especially cupcakes which are satisfyingly quick to make, yet can look pretty and impressive.

This is quite a new recipe for me but I love it – it comes from “British Baking”, a book from Peyton and Byrne.  This is a gorgeous book crammed full of delicious cakes and desserts, and is brilliant to sit and read as well as to bake from. Now that we’re approaching Christmas this is an ideal book to buy anyone who likes baking at any level. (Click this link to see the book on Amazon).

Ok, now back to the cupcakes (or fairy cakes as they are called in the book). For 12 cakes you will need

  • 100g butter
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 60g natural yoghurt

This is the first time I have put yoghurt into cakes but I am now converted as it gives the sponge a light and fluffy texture and keeps the cake from feeling dry. I am looking forward to playing around with this recipe by adding chocolate or fruit to the cake, as well as covering the sponge with different toppings. The combinations are endless so be creative!

This time I baked the sponge exactly as above, and topped them with some chocolate fudge icing and white chocolate drops. The icing was spread onto the cake with a palette knife rather than being piped on, but I always do this when covering the cake with something like chocolate chips. This really wasn’t time consuming but I think the result looks lovely (a thought echoed by the person who I was giving them to).

Voila!

More cooking to follow this weekend – let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Lemon and vanilla cupcakes | applepiezucchini

Leave a Reply

