Smoked Mackerel Pate

I’m now in Yorkshire for Christmas with the family and so I haven’t been cooking as much as usual. Last night however, I have found what I think will quickly become one of my favourite recipes!

My parents were having a few of their neighbours over for some drinks and nibbles and I was helping out with a few bits and pieces. When tasked with making a smoked mackerel pate I had a cheeky Google and found this recipe on Jamie Oliver’s site.

The ingredients are:

  • 2 smoked mackerel fillets (skinned)
  • 4 spring onions
  • 1/2 lemon (zest and juice)
  • 1 tbsp parsley, finely chopped
  • 2-3 tbsp double cream
  • 2-3 tsp creamed horseradish
  • salt and pepper

Don’t worry about sticking too closely to the quantities though – I certainly didn’t as I used 2 onions, 3 mackerel fillets, and about 4 tsp of horseradish! Just make it to your own taste.

Although the recipe suggests either a pestle and mortar or a blender to mix the pate, I just used a fork to mix all the ingredients and would not have wanted the pate to be any smoother.

We ate this spread on top of fresh bread which had been handmade by my Dad and loved it. This is one of those brilliant recipes which tastes so much better than it should for the amount of effort it takes, and I will definitely be making it again when I get home.

I won’t be posting again for a few days and so want to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

One thought on “Smoked Mackerel Pate

  1. Pingback: MERRY CHRISTMAS! – a look back at 2012 on applepiezucchini « applepiezucchini

Leave a Reply

