Creamy tomato and salami pasta

Weekdays in January and February have turned out to be all about the quick suppers, as work is busier and days somehow seem shorter! We tend to turn to quick but satisfying dinners of pasta or stir-fry.

Monday night was no exception but the result tasted so much nicer than it should have for the amount of effort I put in, and so I thought it was worth a post! These pastas are rarely the same twice, and depend totally on what is in the cupboard and the fridge. Don’t worry about measuring things out and being too precise – just go for it!

On this occasion I used:

  • Sliced peppered salami, cut into pieces
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Peppers
  • Mangetout
  • Sun-dried tomatoes
  • Tomato ragu
  • Cream
  • Tabasco
  • Salt and Pepper

As soon as the pasta has gone into a pan of boiling water I always start with the onions and garlic by frying them in some olive oil – this means they are nice, soft and sweet by the end while the other veg is still crisp. Add the other dry ingredients to the pan until almost cooked before adding the sauce at the end.

Having the spice of the tabasco is good to cut through a creamy sauce and stops everything from being too rich, and this is actually surprisingly healthy as it is packed full of vegetables and doesn’t have much cream in. If you really want to cut out a few calories I would suggest switching the cream for a crème fraiche or missing it out altogether, but I have to say I think life is too short, and I’d rather leave it in and do an extra few minutes on the treadmill!

 

Leave a comment