Super gingery ginger cupcakes!

I love ginger….I admit it……I am a gingerholic! But this is the first cupcake recipe where I have ever seen the ground ginger measured in ounces rather than teaspoons!!

The recipe is from a book called “Cupcake Celebration” by Lindy Smith which I bought just before I got sent away with work with the aim of learning some new icing and cake-decorating skills. It’s a beautiful book, with some stunning but complicated things that I’m unlikely to dare to attempt for a while, but there are a lot of lovely recipes and ideas that have inspired me to find the time to make more effort with some of my cupcakes!

To make a dozen of these you will need:

  • 120g butter
  • 100g soft brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp golden sugar
  • 4 tbsp black treacle
  • 150ml milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 pieces stem ginger
  • 230g self-raising flour
  • 25g ground ginger
  • 1 tsp mixed spice

The mixture is quite a lot wetter than most cake mixes, but the cooking time is longer and slower, at 170 degrees for about 20 minutes. The result is a lovely sticky moist cake where the spice of all the ginger (I have to admit to being worried when half my pot of ground ginger went into the mix!) is really nicely balanced by the smoothness and sweetness of the syrup.

I don’t think you’d want to put any strongly flavoured icing with these as the flavour in the sponge is already so strong, but this would be a nice cake for a more decorative non-flavoured sugar icing….I am already ordering some of the kit recommended in the book to play with one weekend soon! The other advantage of a sticky cake like this is that they will last a bit longer (if you can resist them!) and will keep in a tin for about a week.

A brilliant cake for any fellow ginger fiends!

 

2 thoughts on “Super gingery ginger cupcakes!

  1. Oooh yum! I do love a good sticky ginger cake. Reminds me of being little when my mum would buy us those McVities ginger loaf cakes – do you remember those? But I’m sure these are much, much better. Can’t wait to try them out…

    • Thanks! I definitely remember being hooked on those too! These are even stickier and more gingery – I think you’ll like them!

Leave a Reply

