Carrot and coriander soup

Is it just me or is it feeling like we’ve skipped autumn with all those nice crisp sunny days where you stomp through piles of dry leaves in your wellies like you did when you were 6, and have instead plunged straight into a very dark and soggy winter??

Maybe I shouldn’t expect dry living in Scotland, but my cooking has definitely taken a turn towards winter comfort food. All I want to make and eat are cakes, soups and casseroles!

I made this soup as a quick post work dinner before we were both heading out to the gym (I have to try to burn off all these cakes somehow!!) and it got the seal of approval from Ben so I thought I would post as it’s really quick, really easy, really cheap and really tasty……really!

To make this I used:

  • 2 small onions, sliced
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 vegetable stock cube
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • A big handful of fresh coriander

Gently cook the onions, garlic and carrots over a low heat with some olive oil until they start to soften, then add the stock cube, ground coriander, salt and pepper and some water, and leave to simmer until the carrots are fully cooked.

Blitz with a food processor, add the fresh coriander and blitz again (the heat in the other ingredients will cook the coriander – if you add it earlier I think it loses its freshness and a lot of its flavour.

Eat straight away with a little spoon of crème fraiche on the top, and some chunks of home-made bread. Yum!

4 thoughts on “Carrot and coriander soup

Leave a Reply

