Moonblush tomatoes

Nigella Express - Moonblush tomatoes

I stumbled on this recipe the other day while I was browsing through my recipe books looking for inspiration and had to give it a go! It’s from the Nigella Express book and it’s so good that I think it has just become one of my regular recipes!

I absolutely love antipasti and big Italian flavours, and nothing is ever quite as good as a sun-dried tomato for being so brilliantly versatile as an instant flavour boost in anything from soups to salads to pasta.

No idea why I’ve not seen this recipe before as I’ve had the book for about three years but as soon as I saw it I had to try it. The idea is that instead of drying the tomatoes in a slow oven, you put them in a really hot oven which you immediately turn off, leaving the residual heat to gently cook the tomatoes overnight, making those big intense flavours that you get from buying sun-dried tomatoes from a good deli.

You need to sprinkle the tomatoes (sliced in half and placed cut side up in an ovenproof dish) with :

  • 1-2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Wait until your oven is nice and hot (the recipe says 220 degrees) before putting the dish in, but then immediately turn the heat off and DO NOT OPEN THE DOOR however tempting it is to see how they are getting along!

That’s it – these are brilliantly easy and absolutely delicious! I decided to give mine a little extra time in a very low oven (50 degrees)  the next day but it depends on the texture you want.

Definitely worth a try! I’ve already “tested” about half this batch at various stages of the process, but I’m already planning how to use the rest!

 

2 thoughts on “Moonblush tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Mozzarella, tomato and rocket salad « applepiezucchini

  2. Pingback: Bacon and apple salad « applepiezucchini

Leave a Reply

