Peppered balsamic chicken and roast chilli squash

Peppered balsamic chicken and roast chilli squash

When I was at home in the summers between university terms I used to try out a LOT of new recipes for our family dinners. Some were incredibly successful and have become some of my absolute favourites (chilli or paprika chicken immediately spring to mind) while others…..well least said soonest mended as the saying goes!

I had completely forgotten about this one until I was flicking through one of the notebooks I used to jot recipes down into to be able to read while cooking. The splashes on the page are enough to remind me that I loved this recipe and made it quite a few times, so it definitely needed an applepiezucchini outing! I’m afraid I didn’t write down where the recipe came from, but if anyone happens to know I will happily add a credit.

Don’t be put off by all the strong flavours of chilli, black pepper and balsamic vinegar in this one – somehow it all works together with the sweetness of the butternut squash, and the richness of the chicken.

I have listed the ingredients to serve one below, but just scale it up for however many people you are feeding!

Peppered balsamic chicken

  • 1 chicken breast, cut into four
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • knob of butter

Roast chilli squash

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 butternut squash, cut into chunks
  • large pinch chilli powder

The squash should be fried in the olive oil, and the chilli powder stirred in for a few minutes. After this, transfer into a preheated oven at gas mark 7 for 10-15 minutes until the squash is soft.

While this is going on, season the chicken with salt and lots of cracked black pepper, and fry for 3-4 minutes on each side (or until almost cooked through). Add the water, balsamic and butter, and simmer to reduce for 4-5 minutes before serving.

Really easy, but somehow it tastes like you’ve put a lot more effort into it than you really have!

I have just realised that I have strayed away from the festive baking in the last couple of posts. I finish up for Christmas this Friday so look forward to much of the rest of the year being crammed full of Christmassy cakes and cookies, and all round festive fantasticness!

2 thoughts on “Peppered balsamic chicken and roast chilli squash

Leave a Reply

