Chocolate truffles

Chocolate truffles

….tis the season to be jolly….fa la la la la…..

Things are turning pretty Christmassy here! I am currently enjoying a Sunday night with no Sunday blues but just the blissful knowledge of not having to go to work until the 3rd of January!I’ve been to my first few Christmas parties and am planning an early morning mission to the shops to get a load of my presents done before the shops get busy…..and I may just have to go home via a glass of mulled wine at the German market!

My thinking is starting to turn to edible gifts, as I don’t like to turn up to places empty handed, and when I get home my Dad prefers home-made things to the obligatory jumper from Marks and Spencer!

I have posted about these little truffles before, but only as part of a larger post on Christmas canapés and nibbles when I had just started the blog, and so I doubt most of you will have seen them. They are certainly worth their own post and are my favourite edible gift to make! The original recipe was from the January 2012 BBC Good Food magazine.

All you need are:

  • 2 100g bars of dark chocolate
  • 85ml double cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Just melt everything together and then leave to cool until you can make little balls of truffle which then get rolled in cocoa powder.

Really easy but these look beautiful in little boxes and make fantastic gifts. Try rolling in grated white chocolate instead of cocoa powder, or replacing the vanilla with a different flavouring to tailor this recipe to your own tastes, or the tastes of whoever you are giving them to! Maybe make a few extra though otherwise you may find them a little too good to give away!!!!

10 thoughts on “Chocolate truffles

  1. AS there are no wrappers with the word ‘calories’ on them, they can be proved to be completely without any of them. That concludes the case for the defence.

    • They are pretty awesome! I love the bitterness of the cocoa on the outside and then the rich smooth inside…..YUM! I am going to try them with white chocolate on the outside next time….they should look like snowballs!

  2. I am lucky enough to have been gifted a box of these, they are absolutely awesome. Well done miss applepiezucchini for the awesome truffles and good job Ben for the awesome box they came in!

Leave a Reply

