Goulash

Beef goulash

It’s a bit chilly up here! Thought it had snowed this morning but it was just a really really thick frost!  When the weather is like this all I want to do is curl up under a duvet with a massive mug of tea, but sadly we had to go to work so I promised myself comfort food and a nice evening in instead. The chosen comfort food for the evening was a beef goulash followed by baking a chocolate and banana loaf!

If you haven’t heard of it before, Goulash is a nice hearty casserole dish of beef in a tomato and paprika sauce, with sour cream stirred in at the end which originates from Hungary I think.

This goulash recipe was based on the one in my Good Housekeeping Cookery Book – the first (and still arguably the best) of all my recipe books, but I did the quantities pretty roughly. This kind of meal is a lot less scientific in its quantities than baking is, and I just use the recipe as a rough guide to ingredients and quantities.

The ingredients list from the book to serve 6 is:

  • 1kg stewing steak
  • 2tbsp plain flour
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 700g onions
  • 225g pancetta cubes or bacon lardons
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 4 tbsp paprika
  • 2 tsp mixed herbs
  • 4oog can tomatoes
  • 300ml beef stock
  • 150ml soured cream
  • chopped parsley to garnish

The recipe suggests serving with noodles, but I think it’s just as good with rice, or with mashed potatoes depending what kind of mood you’re in.

Yum! Just what was called for on a cold January evening!

7 thoughts on “Goulash

    • Thanks – there’s something very comforting about recipes from the Good Housekeeping book – it takes me back to when I first started learning how to cook and I’ve had it for years. I think this is the sort of book that should be in all kitchens!

Leave a Reply

