Chicken chorizo and chickpea stew

Chicken chorizo and chickpea stew

Today is not going to plan! Ben has gone mountain biking so my plan A of stocking up with food at the shops and spending the day in the kitchen has been put on hold until this afternoon. Plan B involved going to the gym but I have just twisted my ankle by running to answer the phone in socks on a wooden floor! So…..plan C is to blog about the meal I made the other night while drinking tea and listening to jazz on the hifi. Hang on a minute – aside from the throbbing foot I’m not too sure why this was not plan A in the first place!!!

Anyway, back to the food! I seem to be making recipes with a lot of alliteration this week – first the Pesto and Parmesan Puff Pastry Palmiers, and now a CHicken CHorizo and CHickpea stew! Completely unintentional but I’m almost tempted to continue the theme and see what else I can come up with! Feel free to suggest a letter – although not X or Z please!!!

This recipe came from one of my colleagues at work months and months ago, when the subject of the blog came up for the first time in the office. She wrote it on a bit of paper which I am ashamed to say got lost in the detritus of my desk papers to be found when I cleared everything up at the end of January.

For two of us (plus some leftover) I used:

  • 3 small sausages of cooking chorizo (each about 2-3 inches long)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp chilli flakes
  • a blob of tomato puree (about 1 tbsp)
  • Red wine – about 1/3 bottle red wine
  • chicken stock cube
  • handful of whole black olives

Although there seem a fair few ingredients it’s essentially a “bung it all in a pan and cook” recipe so ideal for a weeknight supper. It can also be made ahead of time and then heated through when you want to eat it and is apparently all the better for it as it gives the flavours time to mingle together.

Just cook the chorizo first and remove from the pan, leaving a fantastic flavoured oil behind in the pan. Brown the chicken and start to cook the onion and garlic in the same pan, before adding the other ingredients and cooking for about 40 minutes at a gentle simmer with no lid until the sauce thickens. I did the cooking on the hob but I’m sure this would work in an oven just as well – although I would suggest leaving the lid off to make sure the sauce doesn’t end up too thin.

We had this with rice, and garnished with some fresh coriander and some sour cream which worked really well, but apparently this works equally well with fresh french bread or cous cous. All I would suggest by way of tweaks is to use chicken thighs and perhaps to add these midway through the cooking, as the chicken breast was a bit dry by the time the rest of the stew had cooked and the sauce had thickened.

All in all I think this is a fantastic and comforting meal which takes minimal effort to prepare and which I will definitely make again. It also had the added bonus that I have now converted Ben to liking chickpeas – result!

5 thoughts on “Chicken chorizo and chickpea stew

Leave a Reply

