Bhindi bhaji – featuring mystery ingredient number 2!

Bhindi bhaji

You guessed it – mystery vegetable number 2 was okra! Well done to Tracey at Food and Forage Hebrides, Alice at Nom Nom Cat, Christina at Christina Eats and Chef Mimi for correct comments!

In contrast to the Karela, I already knew that I loved okra (I couldn’t face two disappointing mystery veggies in a row!), and when I was thinking about what to make with my little bundle of goodies, there was a clear winner – bhindi bhaji! The first time I ever saw okra was in this Indian dish, and it’s been my favourite way to eat it ever since.

I used this recipe from the bbc food site, which suggests that for 2-3 people you will need:

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • onion
    ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp ground coriander
  • ½ tsp chilli powder
  • ¼ tsp ground turmeric
  • 150g/5¼ oz tomatoes, chopped
  • 450g/16oz okra, cut into 1in/3cm pieces

I have eaten bhindi bhaji as a main course, but much more often as a side dish. Rather than a lot of the heavy curries we get used to in Britain, this reminds me a lot more of the food I had in India, where the flavours of the spices and vegetables are a lot fresher and more delicate. Don’t get me wrong, this still packs a spice punch thanks to the chilli powder, but the okra is still the star of the show as it should be.

I have been neglecting my baking lately (and am really missing playing with flour!) so be prepared for a post about the chapatis I made this evening, and a few sweet treats before mystery ingredient number three comes along but I have already picked what it will be – watch this space!

5 thoughts on “Bhindi bhaji – featuring mystery ingredient number 2!

  1. Yum! Haven’t tried okra this way before. I like mine pan-fried with cajun spices – gets rid of the sliminess well. :3 And WOW your other mystery veg was karela? The Vietnamese name for bittermelon is “kho qua” which is sometimes jokingly reinterpreted into a wordplay for “difficult”. 😛

  2. Pingback: Chapatis | applepiezucchini

Leave a Reply

