Buttermilk scones

Buttermilk scones

A few people have noticed lately that there has been a distinct lack of baking related posts on applepiezucchini of late! Don’t fret – this doesn’t mean I haven’t been baking, just that I have been falling back on tried and tested favourites that I have already posted about!

This could never last however, and I’ve had a real urge this week to start covering myself and the kitchen in flour again in search of new baking adventures! In times such as this I often spend an hour flicking though my cookbooks with a cup of tea, just looking for inspiration. I was doing this yesterday in my Peyton & Byrne book and realised I had never made the buttermilk scones recipe. I then realised that (despite a few hints from Ben) that I rarely make scones at all!

So on went the apron and out came the flour and the rolling pin! To make these scones you need:

  • 240g self-raising flour, plus extra for rolling
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 40g caster sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 60g chilled unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 175ml buttermilk (or half milk half natural yoghurt)
  • 60g sultanas
  • 1 egg yolk

The recipe said it made 8 scones with a 5cm round pastry cutter, but I seemed to get 12 (and I even measured my cutter to check I had the 5cm one!!) – perhaps as I rolled mine a touch thinner than they did.

These were really excellent – very light and moist which I think comes from the fact that the dough is barely handled. I loved that they were a bit smaller than most scones although this made it very hard to resist taking a second one……or in Ben’s case a fifth one……cough cough!

We went all out on indulgence and had these with raspberry jam and clotted cream – a perfect Sunday afternoon indulgence.

Leave a Reply

