Lemon and vanilla cupcakes

lemon vanilla cupcakes

Elaine, one of my colleagues has just gone on maternity leave and last week had her her last day in the office. As she is the team’s resident baker we didn’t want her to miss out on celebratory goodies, and so I made these cupcakes to mark the occasion.

We don’t know if she’s having a boy or a girl, and so we decided that pale yellow and white were the colours to choose which immediately suggested that I should make lemon cakes.

The recipe was pretty much the same as for the vanilla cupcakes which I have posted about before, with a couple of little tweaks:

  • The zest of 1 lemon was added
  • Some of the yoghurt (about a third) was replaced by some fresh lemon juice

For the icing I started with some pre-made vanilla buttercream (a bit of a cheat but saved me some time and it tastes fantastic!) and added some fantastic lemon curd that I had bought from the farmers market, followed by some icing sugar to thicken it to the right consistency. The lemon and vanilla combination was brilliant, really light and tasted like really good lemon sweeties!

As much as I would like to take credit for the gorgeous icing decoration on the tops of the cakes I have to confess that we ordered them online. I just did not have the time or skill to make ones this cute!

One final thing to say is a massive congratulations to Elaine – hope everything goes well, and I can’t wait to see pictures of the wee one!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Lemon and vanilla cupcakes

Leave a Reply

