Chicken risotto

IMG_2524

I was feeling a bit of a fraud at work until very recently…due to me starting at the quietest time of year for teaching it meant that almost three months passed of me being a lecturer before I actually taught anybody anything!! I’m happy to say that the first classes passed (touch wood) without incident, and perhaps even went pretty well (touch more wood!)!

I’m settling into my new routine now which is why I am writing this post from the sofa of the apartment in London where I am staying until Monday night next week. The trick to keeping blogging as much as I want to is going to have to be that I cook loads when I am at home and always have a few photos and scribbled notes on my little computer so that I can write while I’m away….and it’s certainly more fun that watching some of the drivel that’s on tv at the moment!!!

So…here’s one that I made earlier! It was a bit of a make-it-up-as-you-go-along/bodge but it turned out to be quite tasty so I thought it was worth sharing. I knew I wanted to make quite a quick risotto, and I knew I wanted to use chicken…and that was as much as I had planned! I wasn’t taking any sort of notes while I was cooking so this is a bit of a guestimated ingredients list:

For 2 people:

  • 180g arborio rice
  • chicken stock
  • 2 small onions, cut into thin strips
  • 1 clove garlic
  • balsamic vinegar
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • dried herbs – oregano, basil and thyme
  • parmesan

I cooked the onions and garlic in some olive oil until they started to soften before adding balsamic vinegar and reducing down until they were sweet and sticky. Next came the therapeutic  stirring of the rice, with one ladle-full of stock at a time until it has all been absorbed. I added the peppers mid way through so that they would not be overcooked.

When the rice was cooked but still had a little bit of bite to it I grated in some parmesan to make it really unctuous (anyone else agree that is a fantastic word for a risotto!?) and rich, and tweaked the seasoning to finish it off. Served with a sliced chicken breast on top (that had been cooked in the oven to keep its moisture) and fresh rocket leaves.

Right, had better go and get things ready for teaching tomorrow – currency derivatives anyone!?

One thought on “Chicken risotto

Leave a Reply

