Upside-down onion tart

Upside-down onion tart

So the first recipe to be made from all the Christmas books was from the River Cottage Veg Every Day book, and it had to be this onion tart. Now, as I mentioned in the last post, I come from a family of keen foodies, but there are surprisingly few recipes which we unanimously love just as they are! Having made this I am happy to say it has now become one of those recipes! Before I’d even seen this book I’d had both my Dad and brother on the phone raving about this one, how easy it was and how spectacularly tasty the finished result was….I had to give it a go!

It’s like a tarte tatin in that what eventually becomes the top of the tart is cooked in a pan, before laying pastry over the top, baking and then turning out. Rather than the classic sweet tarte tatin made with apples, this one is made with wedges of onion, cooked and caramelised in a little balsamic vinegar.

To make this, you really don’t need very much! Just

  • onions, each \cut into 6-8 wedges with the root left on so they hold together
  • puff pastry (ready-made is absolutely fine….this is designed as an easy store cupboard type of dinner!)
  • balsamic vinegar
  • a little butter and oil for cooking

The onions needed about 15-20 mins over a medium heat, and the only slightly tricky bit about this recipe was turning the wedges over without them disintegrating. I don’t think it would matter if they did, I just wanted the nice presentation of the onion wedges in a circle! Once about done, a good tablespoon of balsamic goes in and is reduced for a minute or two. At this point the pastry goes on and the whole pan goes into the oven for about 25 mins (the recipe said 20 but mine needed a bit longer).

The recipe says serves 4 (when cooked in a small 20cm ish pan) but I would strongly disagree! Ben and I had half each with a pile of salad, and I could have eaten more…..Dad in fact recommends a whole one to yourself but he and I will happily admit to being greedy when the food tastes this good!!

 

4 thoughts on “Upside-down onion tart

Leave a Reply

