Bengali fish curry

Fish curry

 

What a fantastic couple of days…on Friday I was offered a permanent lecturing position at ICAS (thanks for all those crossed fingers!), and yesterday Ben and I went out to choose our wedding rings! Even the rain while out running this morning couldn’t dampen my spirits…although the tea and flapjacks I had when I got back helped!

On the food front I am trying to get through some of the goodies currently in the freezer, and so I’m using it as an excuse to try some new recipes. Today’s ingredient was a lovely piece of cod and so I started having a browse on the BBC food site….the runner up was to serve the fish with a rich tomato and chorizo sauce and some potatoes, but the winner was this Bengali fish curry from the Hairy Bikers!

I’ll let you click on the link for the detailed recipe, which I pretty much followed, except I didn’t have any of the mustard seeds that it asks for – I just used a little more of the mustard powder to compensate…..although mustard seeds are now on the shopping list for when I make this again! If you click on the link you’ll see there is a little video of them making the curry for their “Best of British” series….and I’m pleased to say it’s as easy as they make it look!

Now you may have noticed that I haven’t made and posted about a lot of curries  and the reason for this is that I have been put off by a few recipes I have tried which were either watery or blow-your-socks-off-spicy! This one, however, was really tasty and the flavours were quite delicate and not overpowering alongside the fish. I went a little easy on the chillies compared to the Hairy Bikers, but this is something you can easily adapt to your tastes. 

Have to admit…it’s very nice with a little mango chutney on the side….you may see the jar sneaking into the background!!!

2 thoughts on “Bengali fish curry

  1. It looks delicious. I love to make curries and am always happy to try new recipes. I don’t think I’ve ever made any Hairy Bikers recipes yet, even though I love watching them on tv.

Leave a Reply

