Viennese whirls

Viennese whirls

Now as a Yorkshire lass I have to say that few things in life are as good as a nice cup of tea and a biscuit. That five minutes when, however busy the rest of the day, there’s time to just enjoy the brief pause before it all starts again. It’s probably the five minutes where I’ve made more friends, had more ideas and relaxed more than any other part of the day!

One of my favourite biscuits has always been a viennese – whether dipped in chocolate or filled with jam and buttercream (or both!) it’s pretty unbeatable! I’m not quite sure why I’ve never made them before but I gave them a go this week to take into work for one of my colleagues’ birthdays.

I found this recipe from a Hairy Bikers programme that was on the tv a year or so ago called “Best of British” – to make a batch you will need:

  • 250g butter
  • 50g icing sugar
  • 250g plain flour
  • 50g cornflour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

All the ingredients get mixed together and then scooped into a piping bag fitted with a star nozzle. Now a quick point here about the butter – the recipe says it should be “very soft” – this is not an exaggeration! My mixture was initially too hard to pipe into the required rosettes and needed a few minutes to soften by the oven. You should get about 36 rosettes out of this amount of dough, and they need about 13-15 minutes at 170 degrees. I’d recommend keeping a close eye on these as they go from pale to overcooked in a matter of seconds!

The recipe recommends that each pair of rosettes be sandwiched together with a vanilla buttercream and raspberry jam, but I went for a chocolate fudge icing instead! Now this was partly because I wanted a chocolate-y alternative to the vanilla cupcakes I was making at the same time, and partly because I already had some to use and was running out of baking time.

Oh my goodness these were brilliant! The biscuits were delicate but still rich and buttery, and the chocolate filling worked really well without everything being too sweet. Aside from letting my butter soften a bit more next time I’d recommend these as really easy biscuits to make, and I think they look a bit more exciting than a lot of the biscuits and cookies I’ve made a lot before.

How did they go with the cup of tea? In my broadest Yorkshire accent “Ee by gum they were right good!”. The best sign of all…..a seriously empty tin to bring home from work today!

 

Leave a Reply

