Happy Easter!

Easter egg biscuit

Happy Easter everyone!

Any of you as hooked on the Great British Bake Off as I am may remember one of the episodes from the most recent series – where everyone made big 3D biscuits…..I’ve always kept it as an idea in the back of my mind, waiting for the time to try it out which turned out to be this weekend!

I made this 3D easter egg biscuit for Ben – it stands almost a foot tall, and I can’t believe it’s worked!!! The biscuit recipe is one of my favourites at the moment – the gingerbread recipe from Peyton & Byrne’s British Baking. This quantity from the book gave me enough dough to make the two pieces which slotted together to make the egg. I’d recommend this book more than any other baking book I own – every recipe in it tastes wonderful, and the pictures and directions make it a really lovely one just to flick through with a cup of tea!

  • 350g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g butter
  • 150g soft brown sugar
  • 1 eg
  • 4 tbsp golden syrup

….I hope Ben wasn’t too disappointed not to get a chocolate egg!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

