Sultana tea loaf

I have a calendar – a nice page per month planner hanging in my house….and I am useless at remembering to put things on it or change the month! I went to it this week and realised it was still on March – oops! Why am I talking about a calendar on a food blog? Because it’s a baking calendar I got with the BBC Good Food magazine at the end of last year, and I have just made the March recipe because it looked so nice.

 

The description said “This old fashioned tea loaf is lovely and moist despite being fat-free. Eat plain or spread with butter with a pot of tea. It’s a perfect treat for a rainy afternoon. ” When I looked outside it was most definitely raining……sideways……so I decided it was the right recipe for the day.

To make this you will need:

  • 250g sultanas
  • 100g mixed peel
  • 140f light muscovado sugar
  • 300ml hot black tea made with 2 bags
  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 1 large egg, beaten

Put the sultanas, mixed peel and sugar into a bowl and pour over the tea. This needs a quick stir and then to be left covered to soak overnight.

The next day, you will need your oven set at 150 degrees (or 130 degrees for a fan oven). To finish your cake just put the flour and egg into the fruit-tea mixture and stir to bring everything together into an even cake batter. This needs to go into a loaf tin (the recipe suggests a 900g loaf tin) which has been greased and lined with a wide strip of baking parchment.

Bake for between 90 and 105 minutes until a skewer comes out clean, leave to cool in the tray for about 10 minutes, and then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

Yum!!! I have to admit I made this with caster sugar instead of light muscovado as that’s all I had in the house at the time but it was still delicious. I think it’s moist enough without butter but I may try it later just incase I’m missing out by eating it plain! I usually run a mile from fat free cakes but this one tastes indulgent and rich like a cake should and doesn’t feel like a fat free cake to me!

 

6 thoughts on “Sultana tea loaf

    • I was surprised how easy it was! About 5 minutes one the first day and only about another 10-15 on day 2, means that it’s one of those satisfying cakes which takes longer to eat than to make!!

    • Sultanas are like raisins but always seem to be bigger and jucier. It also may be something to do with the type of grape, but I’m not totally sure!!

      Glad you like the cake – think it’s definitely worth a go!

Leave a Reply

