Spiced sultana and lemon cookies

Spiced sultana and lemon cookies

After the success of the chocolate and ginger cookies that I made the other day, and after a few people at work mentioned they didn’t really like ginger (although they still managed to eat a cookie!!!) I thought I would try to branch out a bit with my biscuit and cookie recipes…the challenge was to find a recipe without chocolate in it at all, but one that was every bit as delicious as the chocolate ones of previous posts.

I found this recipe in my good old Good Housekeeping cookbook, which was pretty surprising….I have had this book a LONG time, and I thought I had seen every recipe in it, but never remember even seeing this one before!

Anyway, to make a batch of these you will need:

  • 225g (8oz) butter
  • 175g (6oz) golden caster sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 350g (12oz) self-raising flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 150g (5oz) sultanas
  • zest of 2 lemons

I made a half quantity of these as it was just going to be Ben and I that ate them, but most things divided down really easily…..although an eighth of a teaspoon is getting pretty tiny! They needed about 15 mins in an oven at about 170-180 degrees until lightly golden. As with other types of cookies, I would always recommend leaving them to cool slightly on the tray before moving to a wire rack…whenever I try and move them straight away I get a disintegrated mess!

Should you make these? Yes! Are they as nice as a chocolate cookie? YES!!!

Technically I would say these were more a biscuit that a cookie as they weren’t soft and gooey in the middle, but whatever they are they are impossible to eat just one of!! And they have lemon in so if you’re worried about that diet….why not count them as one of your “5 a day”!!!

2 thoughts on “Spiced sultana and lemon cookies

Leave a Reply

